on becoming redundant

15 . April . 2010

pretty soon,
i’ll just be kept on retainer
around here for cuddles,
book reading,
and joke-telling
(ask me about brown-and-sticky).

now that my kiddos are
taking over all of my jobs,
what’s a girl to do?

before school,
nathan starts the laundry,
(i cracked up
the first time he said,
‘mom, we need more oxiclean’),
and the other 3 kiddos rotate between
unloading the dishwasher,
clearing the breakfast dishes,
and
making our bed.
(the kids have lofts,
so ours is the only
proper bed to be made)

seriously,
how am i to have a pityparty now?

they’re killing my ability to feel
sorry for myself
by lightning my load.

thanksbetoGod.


i refuse to straighten these covers:
this bed represents
15 giggling minutes
and three young children to
get it to look like this.

rockon.

ps –
over dinner with
andrea + betsy
a few weeks ago,
i had to sit on my hands
to resist the urge to get out my
pen + notebook + start taking
nerdy notes at the table –
i was just drinking in a’s
example of how she so gently
manages housework with her kiddos.

i wrote them down
as soon as i got home.

and started implementing them
moments later.

and here we are,
light-years ahead of
where we were.

keep those examples coming, friends;
we’re in this together.

3 Responses to “on becoming redundant”

  1. Andrea Says:

    “gently”–you’re sweet. =)
    (if you only knew…hahahaha!)
    I am so glad your load has gotten lightened! And your children are learning a valuable lesson(right word?) of SERVING! =)
    PLEASE bring your NB next time–and teach me how to have a Kari Jo nerdy notebook!!! I want one! seriously!!! =)

  2. Laura Says:

    I adore reading your blog! I wish you had taken nerdy notes. With three preschoolers it would be nice to get started early. They are learning to empty the small trashcans and “help” but sometimes it’s easier to do it yourself!

  3. kathy Says:

    can you get permission to post some of those brilliant ideas. much appreciated!


Comments are closed.

