my Help + my Deliverer

20 . February . 2011

yesterday’s ‘pray and break bread’
with the seminary
was in the mount hope section
of the bronx.

[never heard it called that?
neither had the locals.
the semantic invention of a well-meaning politician?]

174-175th st + the grand concourse


praying for taft high school
and the 6 smaller schools
housed inside.


four of our classmates
pray on an adjacent corner.


i waited patiently and expectantly for the Lord;
and He inclined to me and heard my cry.

He drew me up out of a horrible pit
[a pit of tumult and of destruction],
out of the miry clay [froth and slime]
and set my feet upon a rock,
steadying my steps
and establishing my goings.

[as for me] I am poor and needy,
yet the Lord takes thought and
plans for me.
You are my Help and my Deliverer.

isaiah 40:1, 2, 17


25+ of us enjoyed lunch together
at a nearby restaurant;
pollo con habichuelas,
bistec a la parrilla y
cafe con leche,
que sabrosa.


the D brought me back to 59th st
where i breathed deeply +
enjoyed a windy late-afternoon saunter
up the west side,

snuggled with em/carrie/meg on 71st street
and then enjoyed the most leisurely
dinner with karen;
what a day.

a superspecial hello
to my fam:

cory + the kids + the hinzmans
left for rhode island
right as i left for class
and daniel/leah and i will
drive up to meet them this morning.

hello, vacation.

