advent encouragement

7 . December . 2011

thank you to our dear chris
for this advent encouragement.

The Gift of Gifts

What shall I render to you – the gift of gifts,
your own dear son, begotten, not created,
My redeemer, proxy, surety, substitute,
his infinity of love beyond the heart’s grasp.
He came incarnate to save me, to the uttermost,
As a man to die my death,
to shed satisfying blood on my behalf,
to work out a perfect righteousness for me.

Oh, God, take me in spirit to the watchful shepherds,
and enlarge my mind;
Let me hear good tidings of great joy,
and hearing, believe, rejoice, praise, and adore,
My conscience bathed in an ocean of repose,

Place me with ox, ass, camel, goat,
to look with them on the Redeemer’s face,
and in him account myself delivered from sin;
Let me with Simeon clasp the new-born child
to my heart, embracing him with undying faith,
exulting that he is mine and I am his.

In him, you have given me so much,
that heaven can give me no more.

the valley of vision, p 28


Oh, God of Heaven And Earth,
make us watchful and prayerful of your Advent,
that with the bridesmaids,
we may have our lamps ready to greet you.

Give us courage to hope in your coming –
that in time and space you will come again
to wipe every tear from our eyes,
give rest to the faint-hearted,
fulfill all our longings, and bring justice to the nations.

As we wait for that New Heaven and New Earth, Lord,
let us be your instruments of mercy and justice,
forsaking the momentary and fleeting pleasures of life
for the glory of our future life, for Jesus’ sake.

ps –
ix-nay to churches in public schools in the times;
thanks, cjl, for
helping us think about the
implications for churches who
do own buildings & how we’ll
be called on to help house
these now-homeless worshipping communities.

pps –
always-clever sally shim.

