in defense of my train of thought

24 . January . 2012

okay,
okay,

re: the scads of
sound-of-music
quotes
we’ve heard since our
mountaintopchristmascard…

can i at least tell you what
i was thinking?

our last family christmas card
was this snap from 72nd & riverside
circa. december 2007:


photocredit: our sweet juliaeagan
photo asst. {holding our coats}: megsie

so after our watermelon-y picnic
on the mountaintop,
before we hopped on the ski lift
to head back down for some alpineslide fun,

daddy was about to take a picture
of our fam and in onesplitsecond,
i thought,
‘hey, same spots as the last one!’

so we tried to remember who was in
what order & this is what we came up with:

so, yes,
the hill may be alive
with the sound of cates-es,

but it originated on
the grittybeautifulasphalt streets
we love dearly.

5 Responses to “in defense of my train of thought”

  1. jenny Says:

    I remembered. Although I do think you make a lovely Maria Von Trapp. (:

  2. meg Says:

    I LOVE this pic!
    The fact that it looks like a scene out of the Sound of Music only makes it better in my book šŸ™‚

  3. morveniona Says:

    I also love your Christmas thank you card – getting Nathan dressed up as Father Christmas was genius!!!!!

  4. JRT Says:

    Anyone who made fun of that pic was just jealous. šŸ™‚

  5. Carole Says:

    I get it! I didn’t when I got your card, but now I get it! Oh, what will the Cateses think up next…?!


Comments are closed.

