first person

22 . March . 2012

for the human-side to caroline’s
lincoln center project,
she asked 3 of our church friends
who perform professionally @ lincoln ctr venues
about their personal experiences there.


jenny as the sugar plum fairy @ ABT


jim @ the ny philharmonic


mark @ the met

j’adore their answers:
thank so much, friends.

1. Where have you performed in Lincoln Center?

jenny: i have performed in the David H. Koch Theater,
which used to be called the New York State Theater.
Once, I also performed at Avery Fischer Hall as part of a concert.

jim: I have performed in Avery Fisher Hall, at the Metropolitan Opera,
in Alice Tully Hall, the Juilliard Theater, and Paul Hall at the Juilliard School.

mark: i have performed in both the New York State Theater
(now called David H. Koch Theatre)
for the New York City Opera,
and the Metropolitan Opera, (the Met).

2. How old were you when you first performed there?

jenny: I was fifteen when I first performed at what was
then called the New York State Theater.

jim: I was 18 years old during my first performance, with the
Juilliard Symphony performing Gustav Mahler’s 1st Symphony in Avery Fisher Hall.

mark: I was 29 when I performed with the New York City Opera,
and 42 when I sang at the Met.

3. What did it feel like to be on stage with the audience looking at you?

jenny: I loved dancing on stage. I was a little nervous at first but
I loved to dance so much that I quickly forgot to be nervous.

jim: it was very exciting to see so many people at the concert!
But it also made me pretty nervous.

mark: If I understand your question, you are asking about the first time
I ever sang in those places. I will tell you honestly; both times I was terrified.
My heart beat faster, my skin was cold and clammy, I paced in my dressing room.
It was also very exciting . I was doing what God put me on this earth to do
at a very high level.

But if you are asking me what it is like to get up in front of people
to do what I do as a job, I’m used to it.

4. What was your favorite subject in school when you were young?

jenny: my favorite subjects in school were science and English.

jim: i loved math through high school, but my favorite subject from 5th grade on was Band!

mark: in 7th and 8th grade we had a class called shop,
which was learning how to work with wood and plastic.
that was my favorite class.

5. What did you like to eat for lunch when you were in elementary school?

jenny: my favorite lunch food in school was pizza if I was eating in the cafeteria.
otherwise, if I packed my lunch, I really liked peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

jim: i really loved pizza! but that was only on Fridays, so usually my mom
made me a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. sometimes I ate the carrot sticks, too.

mark: probably the same as you; ice cream. we had a school lunch program and
bad spaghetti, limp salad, stale bread, and lumpy pudding was the norm.
The food was pretty awful, but it’s pretty hard to mess up ice cream.

2 Responses to “first person”

  1. charis Says:

    oh i love this SO MUCH!!! what a GREAT idea and i LOVE LOVE C’s questions and their answers!!! way to go, Caroline!!!!

  2. Carole Says:

    This was a wonderful post – so creative! God has blessed us all with incredible friends, hasn’t He?!


Comments are closed.

